The harsh truth of failure!

Well Stockholm marathon is now over and yet my goal of a 3 hour marathon still remains incomplete! The word disapointed does not even come close to describing how i felt when i crossed the finnish line 11 minutes past the 3 hour mark! Yes for many 3:11 is a good time and many say i did well but MY GOAL was 3 hours and I had a plan.

3 hours will go, its just a matter of when!

Everything was according to plan until 2h:06 min when i passed the 30km mark. I had 53 mins to run the last 12 km in which should have been a done deal! CRAMP…….CRAMP…….CRAMP! That was that.  Between 30 and 42km i cramped like crazy. my calves gave me hell the whole way home. I had bruising (probably bloodvessel burst) from the cramps and they of course got worse and worse. The last 12km took me 64.5 mins of calf ripping pain! The only thing that was worse than the pain in my legs was the disapointment of not breaking the 3 hour mark. My legs were just a blur compared to this pain! I set my goal with the realization that i could fail, but believed truely that it would go all the way!

But now it is back to training, new week, new challenges. Some mountain running and jumping out of planes is on the agender for June. so time to get my mind set on new goals but 3 hours will go, its just a matter of when!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

